One essential thing to understand when
creating a new team in Microsoft Teams is
that it automatically involves creating
a SharePoint team site connected to it.
It is in this SharePoint site
that older documents to share
within your team will be stored.
At the time of the creation of the team,
whether public or private,
the initial choice does have an impact
on the level of protection of the
information and documents you wish
to share with your coworkers in it.
When you create a public team,
everyone in your organization can join it.
However, if you choose to create
The level of security is higher.
In fact, you get to decide who is part
of the team and all employees who wish
to join this team have to make a request.
In both cases it is the rules set by
your company for Team SharePoint sites
there are applied to document sharing.
If your organization allows it,
your team members will be able to share
documents in the teams SharePoint site
with internal or external colleagues.
Even if they are not part of the team.
As the team owner you will not have
visibility on employees who shared
documents with people outside the team.
Indeed, if you can view the members,
an guests of the document
at anytime in the settings.
You will have to go into the options
for sharing each document or folder
to check if it has been shared with
people outside the team. However.
You can set up the SharePoint site
underlying your team in teams to prevent
the sharing of documents by team members.
Start by creating a new
private team in teams.
Then open the linked SharePoint site.
And go to the sites permissions.
Then go to members sharing arrangements.
owners and members can share the site.
As well as its documents and files.
People with editing permissions can
share files and folders on the site.
You can restrict its access by allowing only
owners to share the entire SharePoint site.
However, to maintain as much control as
possible over sharing your documents,
choose to allow.
Only site owners can share.
This way your team members will only
be able to share with people who
already have access to the document,
meaning team members.
Or specific people.
But you will need to approve this
sharing request as the team owner.
If you want to further restrict
access to your teams documents,
you can also disable access requests.
This will prevent other employees
from requesting access to
your team and his documents.
Your team members will also
no longer be able to share
documents with specific people.
And will be restricted to
sharing only with team members.