You can add private channels to your
teams in teams to create targeted
collaboration workspace within your teams.
This can be useful, for example, a part of
the team has to meet around the project.
But does not want to create
a specific team in teams.
Or if some of the employees have
to discuss sensitive information,
such as budgets, strategic positions, etc.
By default, any member of a team
can create a private channel
within the team except the guests.
If you own the team in the team settings,
you can choose to activate the right for
your members to create private channels.
Note, depending on the policy set
by your administrator.
You may also not have access to
the creation of private channels.
When you create a private channel,
so you are the only person who can add
or remove members in this channel.
But you can also assign ownership
status to other members.
You can also add guests to the
private channel in any case,
owners, members and guests must
already be part of the team in
order to be added to that Channel.
When you add a new member to private channel,
they will have access to all conversations
prior to their arrival in the channel.
As the owner of the team,
you have a view of all the channels,
public and private, created in it.
However, if you yourself are not a
member of a private channel of your team,
you will not have access to its content.
Anet will not appear in your teams
channel list in the left panel.
But you will still be able to
see in the channels tab on
your teams management panel.
From this interface.
You will be able to view the
owners of the private channel.
But also to delete this channel.
Be careful, this will erase all
the content of this channel.
If you remove it by mistake,
you will have 30 days to
restore the private channel.
At the time of creation,
private channels inherit the same
permissions as the parent team.
However, they are independent and you
can change their settings individually.
This includes, of course,
the list of members of the
channel and their status,
but also their permissions.
In settings you can also choose to
allow at mentions, an fun stuff.
Tools like GIFs and memes
for this private channel.
Finally. Be aware that when
you create a private channel,
a new collection of SharePoint sites.
Is automatically created
specifically for this one.
It is independent of the general
team SharePoint site and reserved
for members of the private show.
This ensures that only members
of the private channel can access
the files and folders contained
in this site collection.